Mixtape: Angel Haze, Potty Mouth, TRUST And More

New York – In this week’s music roundup of a mixtape, we have a little something for everyone, as there’s been a lot of great coverage and new releases of sounds of a great variety of genres. Caroline reviewed Foreign Fields’ live show in Nashville, a duo who brought Sufjan Stevens circa Seven Swans to mind, as they “explored the dichotomy of gentle and powerful on stage before us.” I saw Potty Mouth at Glasslands, who kept it real with their raw rock. Brigit had us covered on Angel Haze’s debut LP Dirty Gold,  which she described as being more mainstream and accessible with an increased pop sensibility, but she still retains that gritty, manic force flow that comes through strong on her previous mixtapes. Florida-based synth pop melody weaver Emily Reo was our latest Featured Artist, who manages to be “Somehow both wintry and warm.”

As for new releases:

Girl Band (shown above) is a band of dudes from Dublin, who got my attention with their new no-wave noise-rock single “Lawman.”

Detroit band Protomartyr was maybe my favorite discovery for this mix, with “Scum, Rise!” off their forthcoming second LP being my new jam. They’ve got something creepily awesome about them.

Garage rockers Jack Name shared new track “Born to Lose,” and also extended their currenttour in support of forthcoming album Light Show.

Rapper Iamsu! + HBK Gang’s new track “Never Goin’ Broke” could be the new year anthem right here, for everyone who vows to do it right and get their act together this time around. Because no one wants to be broke.

TRUST premiered “Rescue, Mister,” the new one off the Joyland LP, due out March 4th on Arts & Crafts.

We also discovered more coolness from Tel Aviv, by Garden City Movement. Their track “The More You Make It” is a seriously smooth dance jam.

Ontario-based singer and electronic artist Jessy Lanza announced a North American tour, and also shared seductive down-tempo synth-pop single “Strange Emotion”

Lyla Foy, the London singer and songwriter from WALL is releasing her debut album on Sub Pop come March 17, and lead singer ‘Feather Tongue” is the first taste.

LA five-piece Vanaprasta have melded the digital with the analog on their second LP, and recorded live with each member mixing each of his instruments simultaneous. This has resulted in their songs being steeped with an organic vitality, like on new song “NYF.”

Goth pop shoegazers The Casket Girls have been busy gearing up for the release of their sophomore album and a tour in support. “Day To Day” is the latest tune from them.

Portland experimental pop band Aan premiered their new video for “Somewhere Sunshine,” featuring two modern day cowboys having a man-off on a plain.

Woods have announced a new album, With Light And With Love, and the first single “Leaves Like Glass” reminds me of that good feeling, or “pop shamanism” that they’ve continued to evolve, and how great their live show is. Good thing they’ve got a Spring tour too. 


Girl Band – “Lawman”

Protomartyr – “Scum, Rise!”

Potty Mouth – “Damage”

Jack Name – “Born to Lose”

Iamsu! + HBK Gang – “Never Goin’ Broke”

Angel Haze – “Echelon (It’s My Way)”

Trust – “Rescue, Mister”

Garden City Movement – “The More You Make It”

Lyla Foy – “Feather Tongue”

Jessy Lanza – “Strange Emotion”

Woods – “Leaves Like Glass”

Vanaprasta – “NYF”

Aan – “Somewhere’s Sunshine”

The Casket Girls – “Day to Day”

Emily Reo – “Wind”

Frankie Cosmos – “Owen”

Foreign Fields – “From the Lake to the Land